Mini Pancake Puffs

Hey friends!

This has been a really lovely week for me. I wrapped up my first year of teaching Sunday school on Sunday, had a busy and productive workweek, spent some time with Chris and some friends, reset/reorganized my Sunday school classroom on Wednesday, and today my coworkers and I curated a seriously delicious breakfast for one another to start Friday off right.

I also started a devotional plan on the She Reads Truth app. I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to download the app and start studying. The “This is the Gospel” plan has rocked my week and restored my joy in my salvation (Psalm 51:12). I honestly can’t wait to read my devo each morning and sometimes I can’t resist reading a second devo later that day. Most of you are probably wondering what rock I was living under, if I’m just now discovering She Reads Truth, and I don’t know what to tell you; I’ll blame it on willful ignorance. But anyway, if you struggle to meet God each day in a personal quiet time, and you’re a lady, I wholeheartedly recommend checking out the free She Reads Truth app and starting with “This is the Gospel”!

I just really have a lot to be thankful for, y’all.

But back to that in-office breakfast! I have such an awesome work family. We pray for and encourage one another and really, really love to fellowship over food. We like to do a little thing called Fun with Food Friday wherein we make up an excuse to bring yummy food to the office and pig out. This week, we decided to do a breakfast-themed FWFF and we killed it.

IMG_0919

I wanted to make my favorite breakfast dish, pancakes, but needed a more “snack” version to make it cubicle-friendly. I thought about doing some pancake pops I saw on Pinterest but I just didn’t feel like putting forth that much effort on a Thursday night when I really should be doing some homework, especially considering this is the last week of my first subterm of classes for my master’s. It dawned on me that I could probably make adorable and yummy pancakes in a muffin tin!

After prowling around Pinterest for a bit, I couldn’t find the exact recipe I was looking for: one using “complete” pancake mix (the just-add-water kind, my favorite) and a mini muffin tin. So, I made my own.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

For my coworkers, I made 48 mini pancake puffs with a dozen each of four varieties: plain, chocolate chip, blueberry, and strawberry. If you want to make these seriously cute and easy mini pancake puffs for yourself, here’s the way how!

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

You need three cups of complete pancake mix. This is the kind with powdered egg and milk, so that you just have to add water and hydrate the mix into a batter. This is the stuff dreams are made of.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Preheat your oven to 350° and prepare two 24-count mini muffin tins with cooking spray. Baker’s Joy is my jam. This is your fair warning that these pancake puffs will stick to the pan if you don’t liberally spray your muffin tins!

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Add two cups of water to three cups of complete pancake mix, blend out all the lumps until smooth, and you’re already halfway there.

Once you have your seriously too easy batter, divide it into four equal portions. This is optional, of course, but I wanted to have a variety of puff flavors to take to the office.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Go ahead and add ¼ cup of mini chocolate chips to one bowl and give it a good stir.

If you haven’t already, chop your fruit. I used frozen whole blueberries and strawberries because I’m cheap; I chopped them in my Pampered Chef food chopper because I’m lazy. Make sure you give them a fairly coarse chop; you don’t want to pulverize them.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Blend the blueberries into one portion of the batter and the strawberries in another. Don’t stir too much; just incorporate the fruit and leave it at that. Too much stirring and your batter will turn perfectly blue or pink and look less-than-pancakey (another reason to not obliterate your fruits while chopping).

With all your batters blended in their separate bowls, start pouring (or, in my case, scooping with a cookie scoop) the batter into the mini muffin tins. You should be able to fill twelve muffin tin cavities about ¾ full with each portion of batter.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Pop ’em in the oven for just ten minutes!

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

When they’re done, give them a few minutes to cool before gently working them out with a spoon. If you didn’t grease your muffin tins well enough, this will be the moment of reckoning. Let them cool on a cooling rack and try not to eat all the chocolate chip ones while the chocolate is still melty.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

I packaged mine up in a Tupperware container to tote them to work the next morning, but I highly recommend serving them warm with your syrup of choice. Ridiculous.

Mini Pancake Puffs - Wayward Sunflower blog

Honestly, how cute are these?!

Mini Pancake Puffs (yield: 48 mini muffins)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups complete pancake mix
  • 2 cups of water
  • ¼ cup mini chocolate chips (optional)
  • ¼ cup chopped blueberries (optional)
  • ¼ cup chopped strawberries (optional)
  • syrup for serving

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease two 24-count mini muffin tins.
  2. Combine complete pancake mix and water. Blend until smooth.
  3. Optional step: Divide pancake batter into four even portions. Stir mini chocolate chips into the first portion, blueberries into the second, and strawberries into the third. Leave the fourth portion plain.
  4. Pour pancake batter into mini muffin tins; fill each cavity approximately ¾ full.
  5. Bake 10 minutes. Allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes. Carefully each puff with a spoon and allow to cool completely on a cooling rack.
  6. Serve warm with syrup.
Leave a Reply

